Lymphoedema Network Wales win Procurement: Patient Safety award at the 2016 Patient Safety Awards.

The winners of the 2016 Patient Safety Awards were announced on 5 July at Manchester Central, Manchester, as part of the Patient Safety Congress. The awards are organised by the Health Service Journal and Nursing Times, providing an evening of recognition and celebration for all the organisations demonstrating improved practice and delivery in patient safety.

Procurement Patient Safety 1

Dr Gavin Hughes (4th from left), and Louise Barry (5th from left) from SMTL attended the awards alongside Thomas Dumbleton (2nd from left) from NWSSP procurement, Melanie Thomas (4th from right - National Clinical Lead for Lymphoedema in Wales) and other colleagues from ABMU HB and Welsh Government.

The entries were judged against the following criteria:

  • Innovation – the quality and originality of the idea
  • Results – the impact and patient safety outcomes of the initiative
  • Collaboration – the extent to which the project involved working across disciplines and departments
  • Clinical engagement – evidence that clinicians were fully involved in any choices to rationalise the choice of product and device

What the judges said about the Lymphoedema Network Wales entry:

Very passionate. No cost to change - inspirational project led to national contract. Patients at centre, involved in testing and evaluating products & in procurement. Excellent project, well delivered and now looking to disseminate across UK & internationally. Patients at the heart.

The Procurement category dealt with the role better procurement can play in  improved patient. Using several different versions of a product is not only financially inefficient: it also introduces variation to the clinical process and, if a clinician has to use a product with which he or she is unfamiliar, could lead to reductions in safety.

This award recognises  individuals, teams and organisations who are harnessing the power of procurement to ensure consistency in care. Our judges are interested in projects that incorporate the product and device supply chain as part of efforts to improve patient safety.

The awards were sponsored by Healthcare at Home, Macmillan Cancer Support, Patient Safety Collaboratives AHSN Network and Ridouts. For more information on the Patient Safety Awards go to

Joomla Template: from JoomlaShack